Do You Need a Visa to Enter Malaysia?

Many travellers do not need a visa to visit Malaysia, however it is best to check on the Immigration Department of Malaysia’s website before travelling.

PETRONAS Twin Towers (Photo by Esmonde Yong on Unsplash)

Many travellers do not need a visa to visit Malaysia, however it is best to check on the Immigration Department of Malaysia’s website before travelling.


From the sheer beauty of its islands and majestic mountains, to the harmonious cultures of over 65 ethnic groups that result in a plethora of authentic local food, festivals and customs, Malaysia offers a window to curious travellers who wonder how life would be like in Southeast Asia. On top of that, Malaysians are generally hospitable and happy to welcome guests. If such qualities appeal to you, how about planning to visit to Malaysia soon to see it for yourself?

But wait – don’t you need a visa to enter Malaysia?

Travellers with a passport issued by 63 jurisdictions including Australia, European Union, Japan, New Zealand and Saudi Arabia get to enjoy a visa-free entry to Malaysia for a period of time. However, for certain other countries, visa is imperative. For the full list of nationalities that require visa to enter Malaysia, check below.


Countries that require visa to enter Malaysia

*Nationals of countries other than those stated above (with the exception of Israel) are allowed to enter Malaysia without a visa for a visit for a period of time. Check with your nearest Malaysian Embassy and High Commission Office to find out the allowable length of stay for your country.

There are three types of visas that the Malaysian Government issues to foreign nationals: the Single Entry Visa (mainly for a social visit); the Multiple Entry Visa (mainly for business or official matters); and the Transit Visa. You can apply for the relevant visa according to the purpose of your travel at the nearest Malaysian Embassy and High Commission Office. On top of these, the Malaysian Government also grants electronic visas to some countries. For the full list of foreign nationals that are eligible to apply eVisa, check below.

Countries that can apply for eVISA to enter Malaysia

But if handling forms on your own can stress you up, why not use reliable agencies such as Byevisa to help you with the process for the Malaysia eVisa? Applications made through Byevisa, for example, are reviewed manually by experienced eVISA experts, promising each application a higher chance of approval. Byevisa also provides a 24-hour per day, 365-day per year personalised support to its customers should you require eVisa assistance at any point of the application process.

Good to know!
All Indian nationals residing around the world (excluding Singapore) and People’s Republic of China (PRC) nationals from Mainland China (excluding Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan) can apply for the Electronic Travel Registration & Information (eNTRI) Note under the Visa Waiver Programme.


What documents do you need to apply for eVISA?

Sam Poh Tong Temple (Photo by John T on Unsplash)
Sam Poh Tong Temple (Photo by John T on Unsplash)

Malaysia’s Current COVID-19 Travel Advisories for Foreign Nationals

  1. In response to the COVID-19 outbreak, Malaysia has implemented strict entry and movement restrictions on all foreign nationals, with limited exceptions to holders of diplomatic passport and officials, including their dependents, as well as passengers with MyTravelPass (MTP)[1] acquired from Immigration Department of Malaysia.
  2. All travellers are required to show proof of negative COVID-19 (RT-PCR) test result taken within 72 hours prior to departure, complete a 14-day mandatory quarantine at a facility designated by the Malaysian government, and undergo a subsequent COVID-19 test on the 10th day of quarantine. The quarantine facility can be pre-booked and paid on MyEG website. The full cost of testing and quarantine is to be borne by travellers.
  3. Additional travel restrictions apply for travel to the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak, which have local autonomy over immigration at the respective states’ domestic and international ports of entry.
  4. At the moment, Malaysia is implementing temporary Exit and Entry restrictions on direct flights from India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nepal to Malaysia. This restriction includes travellers from the mentioned countries who plan to transit in Malaysia on the way to other countries as well.


The information contained on this webpage is correct as of June 22, 2021 and will be updated from time to time. We urge travellers to review current restrictions frequently to ensure compliance. For up-to-date numbers on COVID-19 cases in Malaysia, please refer to the Ministry of Health’s website.

[1] The categories of the pass are Residence Pass-Talent (RP-T), Employment Pass (Category EP I, II and III), Professional Visit Pass (PVP), Dependent Pass to expatriate for all categories, Long Term Social Visit Pass (LT-SVP) to expatriate for all categories, Foreign Maid to expatriate for all categories, Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) Pass Holders, Student Pass Holders, Medical Tourism – Malaysia Healthcare Travel Council (MHTC), other Long-Term Social Visit Pass (LTSVP) (Resident Pass / Temporary Employment Visit Pass (PLKS) / Professional Visit Pass (PVP/PLIK) / Dependent Pass to the LTVP Holders, and oil and gas workers and seafarers.


Filed in: / /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.